Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

The Athletics Partnering Program

The Athletics Partnering Program is designed to enhance relationships between the Department of Athletics and the greater Wesleyan University community, with a concentrated focus on the academic community.  In keeping with the mission of Wesleyan University, the Athletics Partnering Program exists to aid in building a diverse, energetic community of students, faculty, and staff who think critically and creatively and who value independence of mind and generosity of spirit.  By inviting others into the intimate team setting, the range of resources for students and overall understanding of the athletics experience is magnified.  Partners and coaches work in tandem in knowing and assisting their athletes in all dimensions of the students’ curricular and co-curricular pursuits.

As we pursue the goal of every varsity team having at least one faculty partner, we consider the positives this program has and will continue to achieve:   
  • Providing an integrated learning experience for both the partner and the student-athlete
  • Reinforcing and expanding the circle of support for student-athletes
  • Helping to attract top student-athletes to Wesleyan University
  • Promoting understanding and communication between faculty, student-athletes, and coaches beyond the classroom
  • Providing an institutionally-supported means for faculty, student-athletes, and coaches to get to know each other better, enhancing individual and educational relationships and mutual appreciation.

The relationship between faculty partner and team can be quite rewarding. Taking an active part in team activities, faculty partners can develop meaningful relationships with student-athletes and coaches that make the Wesleyan experience that much more engaging. Ideas for partners to become involved and to begin a dialogue between themselves and their team include: 

  • Stop by a practice or a game
  • Have a meal in Usdan with the team and/or coaches
  • Get to know the names, positions, and academic interests of team members
  • Be a resource for student-athletes by being available to counsel them on academic questions as well as other issues pertaining to their experiences at Wesleyan
  • Assist in directing student-athletes to available campus resources
  • Serve with the team on community service projects
  • Be a recruiting contact for prospective student-athletes
  • Be open to visiting prospective student-athletes to sit in on one of your classes and/or help the coaches find another class or professor that might better fit with the prospective student-athlete’s academic interests
  • Meet the parents of the student-athletes on your team at a game or post game event
  • Wear some of the teams’ gear around campus on game days 
  • Travel to an away game with the team
  • Sit on the bench during a game

Job Description for Faculty Athletics Representative

 

Faculty Team Mentor Directory

Sport Academic Department E-Mail Address Phone
Sport: Football Melanie Khamis full bio Melanie Khamis Academic Department: Economics E-Mail Address: mkhamis@wesleyan.edu Phone: (860) 685-2944
Sport: Football John Driscoll full bio John Driscoll Academic Department:   E-Mail Address: jdriscoll@wesleyan.edu Phone:  
Sport: Men's Soccer Michael Whaley full bio Michael Whaley Academic Department: Vice President for Student Affairs E-Mail Address: mwhaley@wesleyan.edu Phone: (860) 685-3160
Sport: Field Hockey Andrea Roberts full bio Andrea Roberts Academic Department: Chemistry E-Mail Address: aroberts01@wesleyan.edu Phone: (860) 685-2513
Sport: Volleyball Joe Rouse full bio Joe Rouse Academic Department: Philosophy E-Mail Address: jrouse@wesleyan.edu. Phone: (860) 685-3655
Sport: Crew - W Michelle Personick full bio Michelle Personick Academic Department: Chemistry E-Mail Address: mpersonick@wesleyan.edu Phone:  
Sport: Cross Country - M/W Scott Holmes full bio Scott Holmes Academic Department: MB&B E-Mail Address: sholmes@wesleyan.edu Phone: (860) 685-3557
Sport: Cross Country - M/W Victoria Manfredi full bio Victoria Manfredi Academic Department: Computer Science E-Mail Address: vmanfredi@wesleyan.edu Phone: (860) 685-2194
Sport: Cross Country - M/W Michael Slowik full bio Michael Slowik Academic Department: Film E-Mail Address: mslowik@wesleyan.edu Phone:  
Sport: Men's Basketball Frantz Williams full bio Frantz Williams Academic Department: University Relations E-Mail Address: fwilliams@wesleyan.edu Phone: (860) 685-2516
Sport: Women's Basketball Ishita Mukerji full bio Ishita Mukerji Academic Department: MB&B E-Mail Address: imukerji@wesleyan.edu Phone: (860) 685-2422
Sport: Men's Ice Hockey Mike McAlear full bio Mike McAlear Academic Department: Molecular Biology and Biochemistry E-Mail Address: mmcalear@wesleyan.edu Phone: (860) 685-2443
Sport: Women's Ice Hockey Typhaine Leservot full bio Typhaine Leservot Academic Department: Romance Languages E-Mail Address: tleservot@wesleyan.edu Phone: 8606852386
Sport: Squash - M/W Vijay Pinch full bio Vijay Pinch Academic Department: History E-Mail Address: wpinch@wesleyan.edu Phone: (860) 685-2399
Sport: Squash - M/W Karl Scheibe full bio Karl Scheibe Academic Department: Psychology E-Mail Address: kscheibe@wesleyan.edu Phone: (860) 685-2273
Sport: Squash - M/W Ana Peres-Girones full bio Ana Peres-Girones Academic Department: Spanish E-Mail Address: aperezgirone@wesleyan.edu Phone: (860) 685-3095
Sport: Swimming - M/W Dalit Katz full bio Dalit Katz Academic Department: Religion E-Mail Address: dkatz01@wesleyan.edu Phone: (860) 685-2297
Sport: Swimming - M/W Fred Cohan full bio Fred Cohan Academic Department: Biology E-Mail Address: fcohan@wesleyan.edu Phone: (860) 685-3482
Sport: Wrestling Allan Berlind full bio Allan Berlind Academic Department: Biology E-Mail Address: aberlind@wesleyan.edu Phone: (860) 685-3483
Sport: Track - M/W Sarah Wiliarty full bio Sarah Wiliarty Academic Department: Government E-Mail Address: swiliarty@wesleyan.edu Phone: (860) 685-2996
Sport: Baseball Rich Adelstein full bio Rich Adelstein Academic Department: Economics E-Mail Address: radelstein@wesleyan.edu Phone: (860) 685-2366
Sport: Baseball Guilio Gallarotti full bio Guilio Gallarotti Academic Department: Government E-Mail Address: ggallarotti@wesleyan.edu Phone: (860) 685-2496
Sport: Softball Louise Brown full bio Louise Brown Academic Department: Dean of the Class of 2017/Government E-Mail Address: lsbrown@wesleyan.edu Phone: (860) 685-2758
Sport: Men's Lacrosse Michael Whaley full bio Michael Whaley Academic Department: Vice President for Student Affairs E-Mail Address: mwhaley@wesleyan.edu Phone: (860) 685-3160
Sport: Women's Lacrosse Karl Boulware full bio Karl Boulware Academic Department: Economics E-Mail Address: kboulware@wesleyan.edu Phone: (860) 685-3571
Sport: Tennis - M/W Guilio Gallarotti full bio Guilio Gallarotti Academic Department: Government E-Mail Address: ggallarotti@wesleyan.edu Phone: (860) 685-2496