The Athletics Partnering Program

The Athletics Partnering Program is designed to enhance relationships between the Department of Athletics and the greater Wesleyan University community, with a concentrated focus on the academic community.  In keeping with the mission of Wesleyan University, the Athletics Partnering Program exists to aid in building a diverse, energetic community of students, faculty, and staff who think critically and creatively and who value independence of mind and generosity of spirit.  By inviting others into the intimate team setting, the range of resources for students and overall understanding of the athletics experience is magnified.  Partners and coaches work in tandem in knowing and assisting their athletes in all dimensions of the students’ curricular and co-curricular pursuits.

As we pursue the goal of every varsity team having at least one faculty partner, we consider the positives this program has and will continue to achieve:   
  • Providing an integrated learning experience for both the partner and the student-athlete
  • Reinforcing and expanding the circle of support for student-athletes
  • Helping to attract top student-athletes to Wesleyan University
  • Promoting understanding and communication between faculty, student-athletes, and coaches beyond the classroom
  • Providing an institutionally-supported means for faculty, student-athletes, and coaches to get to know each other better, enhancing individual and educational relationships and mutual appreciation.

The relationship between faculty partner and team can be quite rewarding. Taking an active part in team activities, faculty partners can develop meaningful relationships with student-athletes and coaches that make the Wesleyan experience that much more engaging. Ideas for partners to become involved and to begin a dialogue between themselves and their team include: 

  • Stop by a practice or a game
  • Have a meal in Usdan with the team and/or coaches
  • Get to know the names, positions, and academic interests of team members
  • Be a resource for student-athletes by being available to counsel them on academic questions as well as other issues pertaining to their experiences at Wesleyan
  • Assist in directing student-athletes to available campus resources
  • Serve with the team on community service projects
  • Be a recruiting contact for prospective student-athletes
  • Be open to visiting prospective student-athletes to sit in on one of your classes and/or help the coaches find another class or professor that might better fit with the prospective student-athlete’s academic interests
  • Meet the parents of the student-athletes on your team at a game or post game event
  • Wear some of the teams’ gear around campus on game days 
  • Travel to an away game with the team
  • Sit on the bench during a game

 

Faculty Team Mentor Directory

Sport Name Academic Department E-Mail Address Phone
Melanie Khamis full bio Football Melanie Khamis Economics mkhamis@wesleyan.edu (860) 685-2944
John Driscoll full bio Football John Driscoll   jdriscoll@wesleyan.edu  
Michael Whaley full bio Men's Soccer Michael Whaley Vice President for Student Affairs mwhaley@wesleyan.edu (860) 685-3160
Andrea Roberts full bio Field Hockey Andrea Roberts Chemistry aroberts01@wesleyan.edu (860) 685-2513
Joe Rouse full bio Volleyball Joe Rouse Philosophy jrouse@wesleyan.edu. (860) 685-3655
Michelle Personick full bio Crew - W Michelle Personick Chemistry mpersonick@wesleyan.edu  
Scott Holmes full bio Cross Country - M/W Scott Holmes MB&B sholmes@wesleyan.edu (860) 685-3557
Frantz Williams full bio Men's Basketball Frantz Williams University Relations fwilliams@wesleyan.edu (860) 685-2516
Ishita Mukerji full bio Women's Basketball Ishita Mukerji MB&B imukerji@wesleyan.edu (860) 685-2422
Mike McAlear full bio Men's Ice Hockey Mike McAlear Molecular Biology and Biochemistry mmcalear@wesleyan.edu (860) 685-2443
Typhaine Leservot full bio Women's Ice Hockey Typhaine Leservot Romance Languages tleservot@wesleyan.edu 8606852386
Vijay Pinch full bio Men's Squash Vijay Pinch History wpinch@wesleyan.edu (860) 685-2399
Karl Scheibe full bio Men's Squash Karl Scheibe Psychology kscheibe@wesleyan.edu (860) 685-2273
Ana Peres-Girones full bio Men's Squash Ana Peres-Girones Spanish aperezgirone@wesleyan.edu (860) 685-3095
Ana Perez-Girones full bio Women's Squash Ana Perez-Girones Spanish aperezgirone@wesleyan.edu (860) 685-3095
Karl Scheibe full bio Women's Squash Karl Scheibe Psychology kscheibe@wesleyan.edu (860) 685-2273
Vijay Pinch full bio Women's Squash Vijay Pinch History wpinch@wesleyan.edu (860) 685-2399
Dalit Katz full bio Swimming - M/W Dalit Katz Religion dkatz01@wesleyan.edu (860) 685-2297
Fred Cohan full bio Swimming - M/W Fred Cohan Biology fcohan@wesleyan.edu (860) 685-3482
Allan Berlind full bio Wrestling Allan Berlind Biology aberlind@wesleyan.edu (860) 685-3483
Sarah Wiliarty full bio Track - M/W Sarah Wiliarty Government swiliarty@wesleyan.edu (860) 685-2996
Victoria Manfredi full bio Track - M/W Victoria Manfredi Computer Science vmanfredi@wesleyan.edu (860) 685-2194
Rich Adelstein full bio Baseball Rich Adelstein Economics radelstein@wesleyan.edu (860) 685-2366
Guilio Gallarotti full bio Baseball Guilio Gallarotti Government ggallarotti@wesleyan.edu (860) 685-2496
Jennifer Caplan full bio Softball Jennifer Caplan Religion jcaplan@wesleyan.edu (860) 685-2298
Louise Brown full bio Softball Louise Brown Dean of the Class of 2017/Government lsbrown@wesleyan.edu (860) 685-2758
Michael Whaley full bio Men's Lacrosse Michael Whaley Vice President for Student Affairs mwhaley@wesleyan.edu (860) 685-3160
Karl Boulware full bio Women's Lacrosse Karl Boulware Economics kboulware@wesleyan.edu (860) 685-3571
Guilio Gallarotti full bio Tennis - M/W Guilio Gallarotti Government ggallarotti@wesleyan.edu (860) 685-2496