Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Wesleyan University Inducts Second Class Into Athletics Hall Of Fame

Wesleyan University Inducts Second Class Into Athletics Hall Of Fame

(MIDDLETOWN, Conn.) — The newest class of Wesleyan Athletics Hall of Fame inductees includes stars from basketball, crew, cross country and distance running, football and soccer, as well as a team that went undefeated for four consecutive years and a legendary athletics director.

A ceremony was held on Friday, October 17, 2008 as part of Wesleyan’s annual Homecoming/Family Weekend for the second class of inductees to be enshrined in Wesleyan’s recently created Athletics Hall of Fame.

< Induction Video >

The individual inductees include:

• James Akin ‘72 (far right), an All-New England, All-ECAC and Academic All-American basketball talent who still holds all the team rebounding records and went on to play professionally in Europe; he also excelled as an attackman in lacrosse and as a wide receiver in football at Wesleyan.

• Amy Baltzell ‘87 (middle) stroked Wesleyan women’s crew to a gold medal at the New England Rowing Championships, went on to participate as a National and U.S. Olympic team member in crew and also earned a spot on the America’s Cup All-Women’s Sailing Team.

• Ambrose Burfoot ‘68 (far left) remains the only collegian to win the men’s side of the Boston Marathon, doing so in 1968. The title capped a tremendous distance-running career at Wesleyan. He is currently editor-at-large at Runner’s World magazine.

• Allegra Burton ‘87 (second from left) is a three-time cross-country All-American who became the first Wesleyan woman to claim All-America honors in two sports when she finished third in the 5,000-meter event at the NCAA Division III Track and Field Championships as a senior.

• Edgar Fauver (represented by his son Alfred, third from right) served as Wesleyan’s athletics director for 26 years (1911-1937) with stints as head coach of five sports (football, baseball, basketball, swimming and tennis); he was also Wesleyan’s physician during his 34-year career (1911-1946).

• Amos Magee ‘93 (third from left), the all-time leading scorer in Wesleyan men’s soccer history, played professionally in both the A-League and Major League Soccer while also enjoying a fine coaching career with the Minnesota Thunder (A-League) and recently coaching the U.S. Maccabi team to a gold medal.

• Holly Sorensen ‘95 (second from right) remains Wesleyan’s only female national swimming champion, achieved in 1994 and 1995 with titles in the 500-yard freestyle and 200-yard butterfly to her credit.

• Henderson E. Van Surdam, 1905 (deceased, no family member present) was an All-New England football quarterback and member of the National Football Foundation Hall of Fame who also excelled in track at Wesleyan and went on to an outstanding college football coaching career.

Also inducted in the team category are the Men’s Track and Field Squads of 1952, 1953, 1954 and 1955, which combined for an undefeated 27-0-1 mark in dual meets and claimed four consecutive Little Three titles.

The Athletics Hall of Fame is located in the Warren Street lobby of the Freeman Athletic Center and features plaques to honor each inductee as well an interactive screen providing additional information about the Hall of Fame and its members. The inaugural class was inducted in May, 2008.