Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

6 Inducted to Wesleyan’s Athletic Hall of Fame

Wesleyan’s Athletics Department welcomed five notable former athletes and one coach into the seventh class of Wesleyan’s Athletics Hall of Fame Oct. 17. The inductees include Joe Barry Morningstar ’39; Cochrane Chase ’54; Marion Stoj, M.D. ’74; Thomas Vincent Reifenheiser III ’94; Sarah Hann, DVM ’95; and J. Elmer Swanson, track and cross country coach. Chase, a tremendous football and wrestling talent, was unable to attend the event.

The Wesleyan University Athletics Hall of Fame grew out of the collaborative work of the Athletics Advisory Council (AAC), founded in the fall of 2006, and the Wesleyan administrative. Though the inventory of outstanding coaches and competitors was especially daunting for early class selection, with significant research and considerable discussion the selection committee was able to provide a slate of inductees representing over 100 years of Wesleyan athletics.

The event included an Athletic Hall of Fame reception, dinner and award ceremony. John Biddiscombe, adjunct professor of physical education, emeritus, presented the awards.