Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Wesleyan Athletics Announces 2016 Hall of Fame Class

MIDDLETOWN, Conn. – Wesleyan University has announced its 2016 Athletics Hall of Fame class, which will be inducted Friday, Oct. 21, 2016 during Homecoming Weekend. The eighth class features Bill Brooks '49, P '71, Jenna Flateman '04, Alexis Keeler '02, Peter "Kosty" Kostacopoulos, Don Russell, and the 1994 Wesleyan women's soccer team. 

  • Bill Brooks '49, P '71 (Football/Track) – Bill was a dual-sport athlete at Wesleyan, excelling in both football and track. On the football field, he played an integral role in three consecutive undefeated seasons; 1946 (7-0), '47 (7-0) and '48 (8-0). He played running back for the Cardinals and holds the program record for longest scoring run from scrimmage, in which he ran 94 yards against Swarthmore in 1947. Additionally, Bill achieved great success on the track and is Wesleyan's all-time record holder in both the 100 and 220-yard runs, crossing the finish line in :09.7 and :23.3, respectively.

  • Jenna Flateman '04 (Indoor & Outdoor Track/Field Hockey) – Jenna, a 2003 NCAA National Champion, was an exceptional track athlete at Wesleyan, and also competed in field hockey for three years with the Cardinals before excelling in rugby following graduation. During her tenure at Wes, she set numerous records in track that still hold strong today. She is the indoor record holder in the 55-meter dash (:07.03) and the 200m (:25.71), and also a member of the 4x200m relay (1:44.74) and sprint medley relay (4:30.65) teams. Jenna holds the fastest outdoor times in the 100m (:11.90) and the 200m (:24.88) as well, while also holding the record in the sprint medley relay (4:21.78). She piled up numerous accolades throughout her career, most notably the 2003 NCAA national title in the 55-meter dash, while also winning numerous New England Division III, NESCAC and ECAC titles, and earning several NCAA All-American, All-New England Division III, All-NESCAC and All-ECAC honors. Following her storied career, Flateman competed in women's rugby and became a star on the USA Women's Sevens team.

  • Alexis Keeler '02 (Volleyball) – Alexis was a key member on the most successful women's volleyball team in program history, as the 2001 Cardinals finished with a 30-6 overall record and 9-1 NESCAC mark en route to their first-ever NCAA Championship appearance. Alexis was named the NESCAC Player of the Year that season, as Wesleyan earned the No. 1 seed in the NESCAC Tournament before falling short in the title match. Behind the stellar play of Keeler, the Cardinals also reached the second round of the national postseason tournament. A team captain in 2001, she was also named an AVCA All-America Honorable Mention and was inducted into Phi Beta Kappa in the fall. Keeler holds numerous records at Wesleyan and is the all-time leader in service aces with 361. She also holds the record for most aces (144) and aces per set (1.19) in a season, and the most aces (12) and blocks (11) in a match.

  • Peter "Kosty" Kostacopoulos (Coach) – Kostacopoulos is the all-time winningest coach at Wesleyan. He served as the head baseball coach for 28 seasons, from 1974-to-2001, and also acted as an assistant football coach. During his tenure at the helm of the baseball program, the Cardinals posted a 478-304-7 record, which is good for a .610 winning percentage. He led Wesleyan to 11 Little Three titles, and a NCAA College World Series appearance in 1994, earning NCAA Coach of the Year honors as the Cardinals finished as runner-up. He was not only an excellent coach on the field, but his mentoring and lifelong friendships to his former players, made his student-athletes better on and off the field. He was a great recruiter, motivator and game planner, and he earned the respect of his players.

  • Don Russell (AD/Coach) – Russell was the former Chair of Physical Education and Director of Athletics at Wesleyan from 1968-to-1988, and also served as head coach of both the football and women's squash programs. As an AD, Russell was very active on both athletic and local committees, and was very well respected by administration, faculty, and his professional peers. As a football coach, Russell posted a 37-19 record, while coaching the Cardinals to three Little Three Championships ('66, '69, '70). He coached the last undefeated Wesleyan team in 1969 (8-0), and his .661 winning percentage is the highest among coaches in the modern era. The '69 Cardinals also shared the Lambert Cup with Delaware as the best division college team in the East, while Russell was named the New England Division College Coach of the Year.

  • The 1994 Women's Soccer Team – The 1994 Wesleyan women's soccer team, led by head coach Jeff Vagell and captains Michelle Duff '95, Olga Fernandez '95 and Rachel Hunt '95, was the most successful in program history. The Cardinals finished 12-4-1 that season, while claiming the ECAC New England Division III Championship. Wesleyan went 5-0-1 down the stretch and defeated Bates in the final, 1-0. Flo Stueck '96 led the team with 15 goals and five assists for a total of 35 points, while goalkeeper Stacey Parris '98 was terrific in net with a 0.77 goals-against average, a 91.3 save percentage, and six shutouts.

The induction ceremony will take place Friday, October 21 during Homecoming Weekend. Please visit the Athletics Hall of Fame for more information, and click HERE to register.