Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Cardinals Win Historic Little Three Titles in Men’s Ice Hockey, Basketball, Football

Photo by Jonas Powell '18
Photo by Jonas Powell '18

By Olivia Drake

For the first time in the history of Wesleyan athletics, the football, men's basketball and most recently, men's ice hockey team, won the Little Three title in the same academic year.

The "Little Three" schools — Wesleyan, Amherst and Williams — first formally banded together in 1899 as the Triangular League. Since 1910, the teams have annually competed in the Little Three intercollegiate athletic conference.

Although men's hockey lost to Trinity 7-2 during their Feb. 17 game, Amherst defeated Williams 1-0 on the same day, giving the Cardinals their first outright Little Three title in 30 years. The Cardinals are led by head coach Chris Potter.

Football won their Little Three title on Nov. 5, 2016 with a 59-14 win over Williams. And the men's basketball team won their Little Three title on Feb. 7 with a thrilling 73-72 overtime victory against Amherst.

WESFiles Alumni: Tim Day '59
November 17, 2016 WESFiles Alumni: Tim Day '59