Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Wesleyan Crew Receives Eight All-NESCAC Selections

Wesleyan Crew Receives Eight All-NESCAC Selections

HADLEY, Mass. – Eight members of Wesleyan crew were honored by the New England Small College Athletic Conference (NESCAC) today as the league announced its 2019 Men's and Women's Rowing All-NESCAC Teams.

>> 2019 NESCAC Men's & Women's Rowing All-Conference Teams <<

Representing the men are Ben Lynch and Jack Sheffer with First Team honors, while Harrison Malec was named to the Second Team. For the women, Rachelle Flowers, Emma Porrazzo, and Allison Quintana earned First Team laurels, and Monica Rao and Nicole Rizzuto (Coxswain) earned Second Team praise.

On the men's side, Lynch, Sheffer, and Malec all earned the first All-Conference honors of their careers after an excellent 2019 campaign. The Cardinals claimed several trophies this spring, while also winning the Little Three title. The highlight of the year occurred recently, when top-seeded Wesleyan won the Varsity 8 at the New England Rowing Championships, claiming the Rusty Callow Trophy for the fourth time in program history (1967, 1987, 2004, 2019).

On the women's side, Flowers repeated as a First Team selection while Porrazzo, Quintana, Rao, and Rizzuto claimed their first All-Conference laurels. Wesleyan has enjoyed another stellar season in the water, having earned its fourth consecutive at-large bid to the NCAA Division III Championships and second straight as a team. The Cardinals' performance at the National Invitational Rowing Championships (NIRC) last weekend helped propel them into the postseason as the Varsity 8 boat finished fourth overall, and the Second Varsity 8 claimed the bronze medal. The crew will head to Indianapolis, Ind. for the national race, which will be held May 31 – June 1. They will be joined by NESCAC foes Bates and Hamilton.