Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Wesleyan Places 102 on NESCAC Spring All-Academic Team; 11 Earn All-Sportsmanship

Wesleyan Places 102 on NESCAC Spring All-Academic Team; 11 Earn All-Sportsmanship

MIDDLETOWN, Conn. – The Wesleyan University spring athletic teams put a total of 102 student-athletes on the 2019 NESCAC Spring All-Academic Team, while eight Cardinals earned All-Sportsmanship honors as announced by the conference on Friday afternoon. A total of 994 student-athletes were named to the All-Academic Team, while 112 earned spots on the All-Sportsmanship Team.

>> NESCAC All-Academic Release | All-Sportsmanship Release <<

In order to earn a spot on the All-Academic Team, a student-athlete must have reached sophomore academic standing and be a varsity letter winner with a minimum GPA of 3.50 or equivalent on a 4.0 scale. Transfer students are eligible as long as they have completed at least one year of study at the institution.

Tufts ranked first in the conference with 138 athletes on the All-Academic list, while Middlebury ranked second with 133 and Williams was third with 117. Rounding out the top five were Amherst (103) and Wesleyan (102).

The men's lacrosse, women's crew, and women's track & field teams led the way for the Cardinals with 15 honorees each, while men's crew and women's lacrosse saw 10 players earn the achievement. Baseball placed 11 athletes on the All-Academic Team, while men's track & field (6), men's golf (6), men's tennis (5), women's tennis (3), and softball (2) were all represented.

Senior Andrew McCracken (men's outdoor track & field) highlighted the list for Wesleyan as he was just one of 10 individuals in the conference to be selected to all three teams; NESCAC All-Academic, NESCAC All-Sportsmanship, and NESCAC All-Conference. In all, 41 Wesleyan student-athletes made their second appearance on the All-Academic Team, while 24 made their third appearance, 17 were also All-NESCAC honorees, and six were also named All-Sportsmanship.

The All-Sportsmanship Team is comprised of one student-athlete from each of the NESCAC schools for each sport the conference sponsors, as 112 student-athletes were recognized. Peter DeLalio (baseball), Alexis Campbell (softball), Colin Uyeki (men's lacrosse), Emi Ogden-Fung (women's lacrosse), Peter Anker (men's tennis), Venia Yeung (women's tennis), McCracken, Jenny Aguiar (women's outdoor track & field), Theo Simko (men's rowing), Eleanor Highleyman (women's rowing), and George Blinick (men's golf).