Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Field Hockey Earns National Academic Praise; 17 Members Named to National Academic Squad

Photo courtesy Lianne Yun '18
Photo courtesy Lianne Yun '18

MIDDLETOWN, Conn. – Seventeen members of the Wesleyan University field hockey team were honored by zagsports and the National Field Hockey Coaches Association (NFHCA) this week for their performance in the classroom as they were named to the 2016 ZAG Field Hockey/NFHCA Division III National Academic Squad. In addition, the Cardinals received national academic team praise, and Emily Hart '17 and Erica Horowitz '20 were named Scholars of Distinction.

National Academic Squad  l  Scholars of Distincton

The seventeen members to earn recognition on the National Academic Squad were seniors Claire Edelman, Hart, Colleen Lynch and Lauren Yue; juniors Lily Ardente, Phoebe Howe and Brooke Hodgson; sophomores Meghan Jain, Abby Warren and Alyssa Wood; and freshmen Rachel Curran, Horowitz, Leah Pensler, Rachel Pomerantz, Maddie Shea, Claire Taub and Delaney Wood. Edelman, Hart, Lynch and Yue are all four-year recipients of the award.

To be honored on the National Academic Squad, a student-athlete must have achieved a cumulative GPA of 3.30 or higher through the first semester of the 2016-17 academic year, while Scholars of Distinction must have achieved a cumulative GPA of 3.90 or higher.

In addition to the individual accolades, the Wesleyan field hockey team was also named a National Academic Team Award winner. In order to earn recognition, institutions must have achieved a minimum team GPA of 3.0 during the first semester.