Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Men's Lacrosse Sets Program Record with Seven All-NESCAC Honors

Men's Lacrosse Sets Program Record with Seven All-NESCAC Honors

HADLEY, Mass. – Freshman Ronan Jacoby of the Wesleyan University men's lacrosse team was named the 2018 NESCAC Rookie of the Year, sophomore goalie Otto Bohan received All-NESCAC First Team recognition, and Harry Stanton '18, Taylor Ghesquiere '18, Andres Rodriguez '18, Carter Hawthorne '19 and Christian Barker '19 were all named Second Team honorees as voted on by the conference coaches and announced Thursday by the league office.

< 2018 NESCAC Men's Lacrosse All-Conference Teams >

Wesleyan and Amherst placed the most players on the All-NESCAC teams with six each, which is also the most-ever by a Cardinals' team as the program's historic stretch continues. Wesleyan has set several program records the past two years and currently boasts a 13-2 overall record while sitting at No. 5 in the national polls. Additionally, the defending NESCAC Champions finished the regular season with a 9-1 league ledger to earn the top-seed in the conference tournament—matching last year's program record in wins.

Jacoby is the fifth player in Wesleyan history to receive the Rookie of the Year award, joining teammate Harry Stanton (2015), as well as John Froats '12 (2009), Jon Killeen '10 (2007) and Glen Adams '06 (2003). The freshman from Glastonbury, Conn., leads the team and ranks fifth in the NESCAC in goals with 46. He is also 11th in the league in points (59), and has 30 ground balls thus far.

Bohan has been terrific in his first year starting between the posts, earning the first All-Conference selection of his career. He is tied for the league-lead in wins with 11 while boasting an 11-1 overall record. The sophomore also leads the conference in goals-against average (7.67) and ranks second in save percentage (56.5).

Stanton earned the third All-Conference selection of his career after being named to the First Team as a sophomore and junior. He was also named the 2015 NESCAC Rookie of the Year. The program's all-time leading goal scorer with 207 for his career, he currently ranks seventh in the conference with 43. Stanton has 51 points on the season and 28 ground balls. A two-time All-American, Stanton also ranks second all-time in Wesleyan's record books with 268 career points.

Hawthorne picked up his first All-NESCAC selection as he continues to shine for the Cardinals. An All-America Honorable Mention a year ago, he currently leads the conference in assists (49) and ranks seventh in points (65). Additionally, the junior attack is fourth all-time in Wesleyan history with 115 career assists and seventh all-time in points with 193.

Barker, a 2017 All-America Honorable Mention, earned the first All-NESCAC selection of his career as well. The junior midfielder has 44 points on the season, while his 23 assists rank 11th-best in the conference. Barker also ranks fourth in the league in man-up goals with eight, and his 135 career points are tied for 14th all-time in program history.

Ghesquiere also received the third All-Conference selection of his career after being named to the Second Team as a sophomore and First Team as a junior. A 2017 Second Team All-American, Ghesquiere was named to the USILA Player of the Year watch list, alongside Stanton, to begin the season. The midfielder from Bloomfield Hills, Mich., has 35 points and 23 goals this spring. His five man-up goals are ninth-best in the NESCAC. Additionally, he ranks 12th all-time in Wesleyan's record books with 142 career points on 116 goals and 26 assists.

Rodriguez has been Wesleyan's top defender on the league's top defense, which allows a league-low 8.63 goals per game. The senior ranks second in the conference with 29 caused turnovers. He also has 51 ground balls, which is the second-most on the team.

Wesleyan hosts the NESCAC Semifinals and Finals on Jackson Field this Saturday, May 5 and Sunday, May 6. The Cardinals are currently riding a five-game win streak and 21-game home winning streak, which dates back to 2016. They will face fourth-seeded Williams in the semifinals on Saturday at noon.