Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Finkelman & Lilienthal Garner ITA Northeast Praise

Finkelman & Lilienthal Garner ITA Northeast Praise

TEMPE, Ariz. – Andrew Finkelman and Noah Lilienthal earned NCAA Division III Regional praise as announced by the Intercollegiate Tennis Association (ITA) on Tuesday evening. The institution announced regional award winners for: Wilson/ITA Coach of the Year, ITA Assistant Coach of the Year, Arthur Ashe Leadership & Sportsmanship Award, ITA Rookie of the Year, ITA Player to Watch, ITA Most Improved Senior, ITA Senior Player of the Year and ITA Community Service Award, with the national award winners being announced on May 20th at the awards banquet in Kalamazoo, Michigan.

<< ITA Release >>

Finkelman adds ITA Northeast Player to Watch to his growing list of accolades over his two years at Wesleyan. The sophomore, ranked No. 5 in the Northeast, has played in the top singles spot all season, recording wins against several nationally ranked players. Finkelman had a great rookie campaign, where he reached the final of the New England ITA Regional Championships, earned a top-10 national ranking, was named All-NESCAC and was just the third male in Wesleyan history to ever qualify for the NCAA Singles Championship. This year, he earned All-NESCAC First Team honors and was once again selected to compete in the NCAA Individual Championship which will begin on May 24th following team competition. The other regional award winners are Hayden Cassone of Emory (Atlantic-South), Ethan Hillis of WashU (Central) and Jack Katzman of Claremont-Mudd-Scripps (West).

Lilienthal was named the ITA Northeast Rookie of the Year, following a stellar first season with the Cardinals. He has played much of his time at #4 singles, recording a 14-2 overall mark this spring. Additionally, he has paired up with Adrian Roji at #1 doubles, as the duo is ranked No. 1 in the Northeast, boasting an impressive 16-3 record. The tandem earned All-NESCAC First Team Doubles laurels and was selected to compete in the NCAA Individual Championships which will begin on May 24th, following the team competition. Lilienthal was also tabbed the NESCAC Rookie of the Year award and was the first Wesleyan player to garner the award. The other regional award winners are Antonio Mora of Emory University (Atlantic-South), Ian Yi of Kalamazoo College (Central) and Luke Lemaitre of George Fox University (West).