Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Men’s Cross Country Gears Up for NESCAC Championships

Men’s Cross Country Gears Up for NESCAC Championships

MIDDLETOWN, Conn. – The Wesleyan men's cross country team heads to Williamstown, Massachusetts on Saturday for the 2019 NESCAC Championships. The meet is hosted by Williams College and will take place at Mount Greylock High School. The men's 8K race begins at noon, while the women's 6K follows at 1:00 p.m.

<< Championship Central >>

The Cardinals are seeking their first NESCAC title and are coming off of strong performances this fall. The 2019 regular season was highlighted by a first-place finish in the College White 8K at the 46th annual Paul Short Run. The event boasted a field of 42 teams, as all five scorers for Wesleyan placed in the top-40. Last weekend, the team placed 13th out of a competitive 28-team field at the Connecticut College Invite, as the top-nine teams were all nationally ranked.


  • Kevin McMorrow has had a great senior campaign, recording personal best times in the 8K. He began with a 20-second personal record (25:36.2) and third-place finish at the Paul Short Run, before placing 17th out of 409 runners at the Connecticut College Invite, erasing his previous personal best with a time of 25:08.1.
  • Also in his senior season, Grant van Inwegen has had strong performances. He was first across the line at the Little Three Championship, recording a personal-best 6K time of 19:28.7. At the Connecticut College Invite, van Inwegen was third for the Cardinals with a personal record in the 8K distance, crossing in 26:06.8.
  • In the regular-season finale at the Connecticut College Invite, Dale Ross was second for Wesleyan with a personal-best 8K time of 25:58.7.
  • Matt Frishkoff had a breakout performance at the Paul Short Run, clocking in at 25:56.0. The 8K time was 1:19 faster than his previous best, as he was the second runner for Wesleyan.

Last year, Amherst captured its second-straight NESCAC title with a team score of 60 as their top-five finishers all placed in the top-25. Ryan Cox of Williams won the conference crown in 2018, clocking in at 25:27.8, while Connecticut College's Danny Aschale was just behind with a time of 25:29.0. Both runners have had successful 2019 campaigns, as Cox will look to defend his title.