Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Williams Named NESCAC Coach of the Year; Two Cardinals Earn All-Conference

Williams Named NESCAC Coach of the Year; Two Cardinals Earn All-Conference

MIDDLETOWN, Conn. – Following its best regular season in program history, Caroline Sgaglione '19 and Rachel Aronow '17 of the 17th-ranked Wesleyan University women's lacrosse team earned NESCAC All-Conference selections, while Head Coach Kim Williams was named the Coach of the Year, as announced Thursday by the league office and voted on by the league's coaches.


In her second season at the helm of the program, Williams has guided the Cardinals to program records in overall wins (11) and conference victories (7). Wesleyan is currently 11-5 overall and ranked No. 17 in the country, and earned the No. 5 seed in the NESCAC Championships with a 7-3 league mark. The team qualified for the conference tournament for the first time since 2009 after finishing 2-8 in the NESCAC a year ago. Williams is the first Wesleyan coach to be named Coach of the Year.

Sgaglione is only the second Cardinal ever to earn First Team All-NESCAC honors, and the first since 2005 (Becca Vogel '05). The sophomore defender has excelled in her second season with the program, and leads the team in draws (45), caused turnovers (26) and ground balls (34). She also ranks fourth in the conference in caused turnovers, fifth in draw controls and sixth in ground balls.

Aronow, a two-sport athlete who also excels in women's ice hockey, picked up her first all-conference selection of her career and was named to the second team. The senior attack has played a pivotal role in the team's success and ranks third on the squad in points (37) and is tied for third in goals (28). Additionally, she ranks fourth in ground balls (20) and caused turnovers (9), and fifth in draws (11).

Prior to today's announcement, Wesleyan's last all-conference selection was 2010 (Jessica Chukwu '11).

The Cardinals await their NCAA Tournament fate when the selection show airs Sunday, May 7 at 9:30 p.m. on