Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Several Cardinals Earn All-NEWA Awards

Photo by
Photo by


MIDDLETOWN, Conn. - Several members of the Wesleyan University wrestling team earned postseason awards this week as the New England Writing Association announced its end-of-the-year laurels. Highlighting the list for the Cardinals were Taran Carr '16 and Devon Carrillo '18, as well as senior Chris Siracusa and freshmen James Matias, Dylan Jones and Roy Forys.

Carrillo, whose impressive sophomore campaign featured an appearance at the 2016 NCAA Division III Championships, garnered Second Team All-New England honors at 197. The Middletown, Conn. native finished second behind national champion David Welch of Roger Williams after posting a 15-4 overall record this season.

Carr earned second team honors at his weight of 174 to add another impressive accolade to his resume. Recently, Carr was named a 2016 National Wrestling Coaches Association (NWCA) Scholar All-American, and finished the season with a 30-10 overall mark. The highlight of the year for the senior was a fourth-place finish at the NCAA regionals, as he narrowly missed an opportunity to qualify for the national tournament. Carr was also named to the Academic All-NEWA Team, joining nine other Cardinals.

Siracusa and Matias also earned recognition for their impressive seasons and were named honorable mention at 157 and 141, respectively. Siracusa, a national scholar All-American and Academic All-NEWA team honoree, concluded his stellar career with a 30-7 overall record this year, including a fifth-place showing at the NCAA regionals. 

Matias, in his first year with the Cardinals, shined in the 141-pound weight class and finished with a 14-5 mark. He was also named to the All-NEWA Rookie Team, joining classmates Jones and Forys who wrestled at 125 and 165, respectively.

The Cardinals excelled in the classroom this season as well, and were recently named a recipient of the NWCA Division III Scholar Team award, and finished 24th in the country. In addition to being named Scholar All-Americans, Carr and Siracusa were also members of the Academic All-NEWA Team, which featured Jones, Zack Murillo '19 (125), Shane Ross '19 (141), Carter Armendarez '18 (149), Robert Rosenberg '17 (149), Forys, Keonmin Hwang '16 (165) and Isaiah Bellamy '18 (285). To be eligible for the Academic All-NEWA Team, a wrestler must have been a major contributor to the team and have a GPA of 3.30 or above.

On the mat, Wesleyan wrapped up the 2015-16 season with an 11-8 overall record, and a seventh-place finish at the NCAA regionals.