Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Wrestling Announces End-of-Year Awards

Photo by
Photo by

MIDDLETOWN, Conn. – The Wesleyan University wrestling team announced its 2016-17 award winners during its annual Wesleyan Wrestling Awards Dinner, which wraps up both the athletic and academic season.



"Excellence in Scholarship":

  • Shane Ross '19: Economics & Psychology Major  l  141  l  4.08 GPA

"Newcomer of the Year":

  • Amir Daouk '20: 16-15 overall record  l  125  l  3.17 GPA

"11th Man Award":

"Turnaround Wrestler of the Year":

  • Roy Forys '20: 12-7 overall record  l  3.04 GPA

"Most Improved Wrestler":

"Cardinal Peak Performer Award": Carter Armendarez'18

  • 6th seed at New England Regionals
  • Placed third at New England Regionals (149)
  • NCAA Qualifier – defeated No. 5 wrestler in the country
  • 19-10 overall record

"Gorrarian Award"; Most falls in a season (10 pins):

"Excellence in Wrestling, Leadership & Scholarship":

  • Isaiah Bellamy '18: 17-7 overall record  l  3.15 GPA  l  Team Captain  l  6th at Northeast Regional  l  Scholar All-America
  • Dominic Pirraglia '18: 21-16 overall record  l  2.84 GPA  l  Team Captain  l  6th at Northeast Regional