Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Women's Squash Wins Epps Cup, Defeat No. 25 Dickinson, 6-3

Photo by Jonas Powell '18
Photo by Jonas Powell '18


NEW HAVEN, Conn. – For the third time in program history, the Wesleyan University women's squash team won the Epps Cup (D Division) title as the 26th-ranked Cardinals upset 25th-ranked Dickinson College Sunday afternoon at Yale, 6-3 in the CSA National Team Championship.

Wesleyan: 9-12
Dickinson: 11-8


  • Laila Samy '18 swept the No. 1 position once again, and finished the season a perfect 17-0 from the top of the lineup. She defeated Hedvika Suchankova by scores of 11-5, 11-3, 11-1.
  • Also earning 3-0 sweeps for the Cardinals were Bridget Doherty '16 and Ellen Paik '16. Doherty won the No. 3 position, 11-1, 11-6, 11-5, and Paik claimed the No. 9 spot, 12-10, 11-4, 11-2.
  • Abigail Smith '17, Ali Imperiale '19, and Annie Ferreira '17 earned wins from the No. 5, No. 6 and No. 7 positions, respectively. Smith dropped the first game, 7-11, but retailed with three consecutive wins of 11-1, 11-6, 11-6. Imperiale won the first two games (11-8, 11-8), but dropped the next two (7-11, 9-11), before pulling away in game five, 11-1. Ferreira had a similar match as she won the first two games (11-8, 11-7), lost the next two (9-11, 9-11) and won the last game, 11-4.


  • Sunday's match was the first-ever between Wesleyan and Dickinson.
  • The Red Devils won the E Division last season, in their first trip to the CSA National Team Championship. The Cardinals reached the consolation finals of the Walker Cup (C Division) but the match was cancelled due to severe winter weather.
  • Wesleyan won the Epps Cup for the third time in program history, and the first time since the Cardinals won in it back-to-back in 2001 and 2002.