Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Cardinals Prepare For the 2019 NCAA Women’s Swimming & Diving Championship

Cardinals Prepare For the 2019 NCAA Women’s Swimming & Diving Championship

GREENSBORO, N.C. – Six members of the Wesleyan women's swimming and diving program qualified for the 2019 NCAA Swimming & Diving Championship, as announced by the NCAA on March 4th. The Championship will be held on March 20-23 at the Greensboro Aquatic Center in Greensboro, North Carolina with The Old Dominion Athletic Conference as a co-host. The women's events will precede the men's events with trials beginning at 10:00 a.m. each day and finals taking place at 6:00 p.m. A total of 579 participants (526 swimmers and 53 divers) will compete in the championships and will stream all sessions Wednesday through Saturday.

<< Official NCAA Psych Sheet >> / << Order of Events >>

Wesleyan will begin competition on Wednesday with the sixth-ranked 200-yard medley relay. The relay team will be composed of Caroline Murphy (back), Mengmeng Gibbs (breast), Maela Whitcomb (fly) and Hannah O'Halloran (free). 

On Thursday, the 30th ranked 200-yard freestyle relay (Murphy, O'Halloran, Sophia Antonio and Grace Middleton) will compete, before O'Halloran takes to the pool for the 200-yard freestyle.  The 10th ranked 400-yard medley relay composed of Murphy (back), Gibbs (breast), Whitcomb (fly) and Middleton (free) will also compete on Thursday. 

Second-ranked Murphy will search for a National title in the 100-yard backstroke on Friday morning. She placed fourth overall last year to earn All-American honors, before earning her second-straight NESCAC crown in the event this year. O'Halloran will also compete in the event, before she competes as part of the 21st-ranked 800-yard freestyle relay with Whitcomb, Middleton and Antonio later in the morning.

On Saturday, Murphy will race in the 100-yard freestyle where she is ranked 14th, while O'Halloran will take to the pool in the 200-yard backstroke. The final event for the Cardinals will be the eighth-ranked 400-yard freestyle relay with Murphy, O'Halloran, Anotonio and Middleton.