Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Coaching Staff & Victoria Yu Honored with ITA Regional Accolades

Coaching Staff & Victoria Yu Honored with ITA Regional Accolades

TEMPE, Ariz. – Head coach Mike Fried, assistant coach Ben Shapiro and Victoria Yu all earned NCAA Division III Regional accolades, as announced by the Intercollegiate Tennis Association (ITA) on Tuesday evening.  The institution announced regional award winners for: Wilson/ITA Coach of the Year, ITA Assistant Coach of the Year, Arthur Ashe Leadership & Sportsmanship Award, ITA Rookie of the Year, ITA Player to Watch, ITA Most Improved Senior, ITA Senior Player of the Year and ITA Community Service Award, with the national award winners being announced on May 20th at the awards banquet in Kalamazoo, Michigan.

<< ITA Release >>

Yu adds ITA Northeast Senior Player of the Year to her large list of career-honors. Yu has seen great success playing at the #1 spot in both singles and doubles this year. In singles play, she has met several top-ranked players, while in doubles she has partnered with her sister, Kristina Yu, to compile a 24-6 overall mark. Together, the duo is ranked No. 5 in the Northeast and earned All-NESCAC First Team praise, while senior Yu also was named All-NESCAC First Team in singles. In addition to this year's honors, Yu is a three-time National Champion in doubles, a six-time All-American (singles and doubles), and earned All-NESCAC accolades five other times. Following team competition, Yu will begin competition in the NCAA Individual Championships in both singles and doubles on May 24th. The other regional award winners are Daniela Lopez of Emory (Athletic-South), Lauren O'Malley of John Carroll (Central) and Caroline Casper of Pomona-Pitzer (West).

Head coach Fried earned Wilson/ITA Northeast Coach of the Year laurels, while assistant coach Ben Shapiro was tabbed ITA Northeast Assistant Coach of the Year. The coaching duo has guided Wesleyan to a program-best 17 wins this season, as they won their first-ever Little Three title en route to the program's first NESCAC Championship. In his seventh year at the helm of the program, Fried was tabbed the 2019 NESCAC Coach of the Year, as he has guided both the men's and women's teams to national prominence since his arrival. For the first time in school history, both the men's and women's teams will compete at the NCAA Quarterfinals in the same year, as both Fried and Shapiro look to take home each program's first National Title. In 2017, Fried was honored as the Wilson/ITA Men's Coach of the Year, while this is the first ITA accolade for Shapiro.

The other regional Coach of the Year winners are Jeremy Loomis of Swarthmore (Atlantic-South), Jay Tee of Chicago (Central) and Save Schwarz of Claremont-Mudd-Scripps. The other regional Assistant Coach of the Year winners are Barbora Krtickova of Emory (Atlantic-South), Curt Howard of Rose-Hulman Institute of Tech (Central) and Nyssa Peele of Claremont-Mudd-Scripps (West).